F-R-A-N

As a CrossFitter, how does that word make you feel? What emotions does it evoke? Feel free to answer those questions in the comments section.

Before leaving the house this morning I checked my training log. It gets updated with a new week on a Sunday evening in Monterey, so I pick it up on a Monday morning.

This morning, I wish I hadn’t looked! It read:

‘Fran’
For time:
21-15-9
Thrusters, 95lbs or 42.5kg
Pull-ups

Rest as long as possible, then:

10 minutes to establish a 5RM deadlift
10 minutes to establish a max box jump (one step allowed)

I was nervous for the entire drive, which takes just over an hour…it felt like a lot longer this morning!

3, 2, 1, GO!

The thrusters felt light and smooth, however at 15 reps I couldn’t help thinking ‘I have this many reps in the next round!’. The pull ups flew by. The round of 15 reps is always the worst…’just keep the pace’. The pull ups were a breeze. ‘Take a breath’, final round! Just as the thrusters start to take their toll, they finish. Forearms pumping, grip the bar and pull. 9 pull ups down, stop the clock…

2:12, a 7 second PB! Happy with that!

I felt pretty awful for about 20 minutes, but felt great after that. The afternoon session took place just 2 hours later.

I managed a 200kgx5 deadlift. I pulled from sumo as I’ve had two previous SI injuries. I finished the box jumps at 52.5″.

All in all, that’s a pretty good day!

I quite like Monday’s!

KEEP EVOLVING

 

Leave a Reply

