GOALS

It was my birthday yesterday – thanks to all those who sent me birthday messages, I’m suffering from a sugar hangover today…it was worth it though!

 

 

Being an other year older, and having recently experienced a CrossFit regional competition, I’ve been thinking a lot more about what I want to achieve from my training. Training without a goal is pointless, right? I mean; why put yourself through it if there’s no end goal? For the past 3 years it’s all been about The CrossFit Games. My 2010 attempt ended in injury (popped ribhead) as did my 2011 attempt (PCL tear). Every year, with the increasing popularity of CrossFit, the level of competition has risen. My numbers have improved too, however – the new athletes coming in have take things to a new level! It’s time to focus on something else – I love CrossFit but I want to solely focus on something else for a period of time rather than driving my body into the ground  with metcons. My body responds far better to getting strong, so that’s what I’m going to do…I’m going to lift. Which brings me neatly to some of my goals for this next year.

In no particular order:

1. Reach a 250kg Olympic total (current is 232.5kg)

2. 2.5xBW back squat (most recent is 190kg, I need 212.5kg)

3. 2xBW front squat (most recent is 160kg, I need 170kg)

4. Compete in an Olympic weightlifting event

5. Master the L hold muscle up

6. Get the Athletic Evolution athletes to the 2013 European CrossFit Regionals

I do have a few more goals, plus a few regarding my own career and my family. The career and family stuff isn’t for the blog and the 6 above are just a taster of what my focus is for the next year. Once achieved, there will be some re-evaluation. Goal number 4 will hopefully lead to further comps and who knows where. Number 6 is a goal that I can’t achieve by myself (sorry guys!). Talking of which – I have had a few spaces open up for remote coaching just in the past week. Drop me an message here if you want some more info.

 

Goals – SET THEM; that.is.all

 

KEEP EVOLVING

 

Leave a Reply

