Post Regionals Analysis & Plan

Well, I had to wait 2 years to compete at a CrossFit Games Regional Event and what happened? I let the occasion get the better of my in event 1, then after making a steady comeback with 10th, 12th and 12th placings in events 2, 3 and 4 respectively – I go and get injured! 

In retrospect, it was a great weekend and I’m glad to have FINALLY experienced competing at that level. Nothing to complain about! 😉

I was asked on several occasions over the weekend, and quite a few times since then: ‘what are you planning to do after Regionals?’. What I really want to do is get ‘Donny Shankle’ strong, drop the metcons as my body is taking longer and longer to recover from them. I’ll throw a max of 2 short finishers in every week, but nothing more than 8-10mins and nothing with high volume – just lots of intensity. It’s my I respond to best – physically and mentally.

‘Will you compete again next year?’, was another repeated question too. Mads Jacobsen told me he’d ‘make sure’ that I’d qualify next year – given how the competition is evolving it’s going to be VERY tough to make top 60 next year.

Which brings me neatly to my next point.

‘The Open’ 

I can’t vouch for what happened in other regions however, there where some guys who did EXCEPTIONALLY well in The Open only to fall flat on their faces over the weekend. 4 athletes who finished in the top 10 in The Open finished outside the Top 20 at Regionals, they all finished behind me! The guy finished first in The Open (in Europe) finished 38th! What’s the deal with that!? More importantly, what can be done to eradicate what is blatantly cheating? Do we just let them make a fool of themselves and their box OR should there be a ruling that you can’t verify scores at your own box? Answers on a postcard, please!

I enjoyed the weekend; even with all the ups and downs. My host, Kris, epitomised what the whole CrossFIt community is about. I’m only sorry that I didn’t perform to a level that I would have been happy with. 

#2013? 😉

We’ll see!

KEEP EVOLVING

 Image

2 thoughts on “Post Regionals Analysis & Plan

Leave a Reply

