Skillz and Drillz

Whether you are new to Olympic weightlifting or you’ve been at it a while, there are always weakness in your lifts that need addressing. My coach is fortunate enough to get to train at California Strength with Coach Glenn Pendlay. Last week we introduced No Hand/No Feet lifting, mainly because I over pull. Guess what, my first session using the technique only served to expose the fact that I ‘over pull’ and fail to use my arms to pull under the bar. Weird, huh?

You aren’t sure what the No Hand/No Feet thing is all about? Here’s a demo

And, as if by magic, Jon North has created another drill, that I’m hoping will further aid my technical development – mainly the use of my arms and timing of the third pull

I’m at a point in my training where the focus is on conditioning with a strength maintenance, so I’m comfortable with making these technical changes to my lifts. If you’re not improving, you are just standing still, right?

Oh, whilst I’m on the Skillz n Drillz train, check this one out. Again this comes from the guys at Cal Strength AND, surprise, surprise, I really like it!

 

Tuesday’s WOD

AMRAP in 8 minutes

10 push press, 60kg

10 box jumps, 30″

20 GHD sit-ups

Rest 5 minutes

1km row

4 rounds + 10 reps

1km row in 3:29

Tomorrow’s session sees a return of the No Hands/No Feet snatch and a humdinger of a metcon! Stay tuned!

KEEP EVOLVING

Leave a Reply

