NEWFLASH!

HOLD THE PRESS!

OWEN SATTERLEY ACTUALLY ENJOYED A RUNNING SESSION!

Since the start of 2012 my programming has seen a focus on increasing the conditioning volume and intensity, especially running volume. My feelings and relationship with running are well documented. I.DON’T.LIKE.IT…but I know it needs to be done. Since starting 2012 I’ve run a few 5ks and 5x800s etc. All of which I didn’t enjoy in the slightest. However, just like a hostage can begin to feel affection towards their captors – I actually enjoyed my runnning session today. Sssshhhh, don’t tell Coach, he’ll program more.

AM

Back squat to heavy single – 185kg

90%x3 – 167.5×3

80% for max reps – 147.5×13

Since having shingles at the tail end of last year I just haven’t been in the groove with my squat. Had my head been in the game, I could’ve hit 15 reps today for sure.

PM

200m – 0:28:05

400m – 1:00:8

800m – 2:23:5 (on a 400m turnaround)

400m – 1:00:5

200m – 0:29:4

MAX RECOVERY BETWEEN RUNS

I was really pleased with the 400 times, considering that they were run up hill (so were the 200s, but I’m not so pleased with them!)

I have a WOD with a 1 mile run, 1200m run and 800m run on Wednesday. I don’t think I’m going to enjoy that quite as much as I enjoyed today! :-/

KEEP EVOLVING

 

Leave a Reply

