Ebb and Flow

There are many facets of fitness. The CrossFit Journal lists 10 general physical skills:

1. Cardiovascular/respiratory endurance – The ability of body systems togather, process, and deliver oxygen.
2. Stamina – The ability of body systems to process, deliver, store, and utilize energy.
3. Strength – The ability of a muscular unit, or combination of muscular units, to apply force.
4. Flexibility – the ability to maximize the range of motion at a given joint.
5. Power – The ability of a muscular unit, or combination of muscular units, to apply maximum force in minimum time.
6. Speed – The ability to minimize the time cycle of a repeated movement.
7. Coordination – The ability to combine several distinct movement patterns into a singular distinct movement.
8. Agility – The ability to minimize transition time from one movement pattern to another.
9. Balance – The ability to control the placement of the bodies center of gravity in relation to its support base.
10. Accuracy – The ability to control movement in a given direction or at a given intensity.

Trying to make increases in all of these aspects, all of the time is pretty tough. If you are a conditioning monster but you need to get stronger to compete, you’ll find that sacrificing some conditioning sessions for lfiting sessions is the best way of achieving it. If your lifitng numbers are redonkulous but you need to up your conditioning to be able to compete, guess what? YOU NEED TO HAVE A CONDITIONING BIAS…yes, I know, that SUCKS!

This is where I’m at right now! I’ve documented in previous posts about my lifting bias in the second half of last year, sacrificing my conditioning level in the process. Now, with the Open looming, and Regionals in the not too distant future, my training is more conditioning centered. I am enjoying it, yes. Does it suck, YES! It sucks, mainly, because I love lifting. I find getting strong easier than building a faster engine. I miss lifting…only getting 2-3 lifting days/week rather than 5 is a big mental issue for me. I snatched today, and lots of bad habits that I’d been able to rectify seemed to creep back in…I managed to post 92.5kg quite comfortably but 95kg felt like I’d added 10kg! I’m going to try and not dwell on it too much. I understand that plan that we (me and Coach Tsypkin) have.

Just to clarify things – THE PLAN IS TO QUALIFY FOR THE 2012 CROSSFIT GAMES. (There, I’ve said it.)

Your training will ebb and flow. From that list above, you’ll find that different skills will develop at different speeds. Some will develop more when you ease off on others. Take a look at your numbers, know your weakness. Make sure your sessions have more ebb the flow…in any of the 10 general physical skills.

Today’s WOD

Snatch to a heavy single

92.5kg

3 rounds for time:

500m row

30 box jumps, 24″

10 squat snatch, 60kg

14:53

KEEP EVOLVING

One thought on “Ebb and Flow

  1. I am experiencing exactly the same in the Snatch due to decreased volume (once a week).

    I am going to sneak in Snatch as part of my wu now whenever I clean or squat since it is perfect in many ways as wu (activation, focus, flexibility etc)

    Grease the groove

Leave a Reply

