Riding The Wave

Riding The Wave

As CrossFitters we tend to have a quite high training volume. If the training volume and time frame is set correctly you’ll see great adaptation from the athlete – skills, movement patterns, strength. We need to understand that there is an optimal level for overload and and optimal time frame to achieve it, i.e. if the overload happens in too short a space of time it can end in injury. Recovery plays a huge role in this process. The body repairs and develops during recovery periods.

Recovery can be broken down into short term and long term recovery. Short term recovery is directly post WOD i.e.  a cool down (do you do one?) and the any activity the following day (unless it’s another training day!). Doing nothing is ALWAYS worse than doing something! Post workout nutrition is key also. Getting the right foods and fluid in to replace lost electrolytes and optimise protein synthesis.

Long term recovery needs to be factored into your annual plan. I firmly believe in taking the odd week, yes WEEK, off. Especially after a long build up to competition. I mean, how much fitness are you REALLY going to lose after a competition if you take a week off? Rather than be concerned with losing fitness you should rather think about how much you will gain, mentally and physically, from a good break. As with the short term rest, you don’t need to be a complete couch potato during the week off.  DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Try a new sport, something at you wouldn’t have time for during a packed training schedule…ANYTHING!

I’ve been making pretty good gains since the New Year and I want to keep riding the wave. All of the above points are integrated into my training schedule at the moment and I feel awesome…even with two nocturnal children! Oh, and that’s another major factor…GET PLENTY OF SLEEP!

 

I’ve mentioned this in a previous post. However, I have been struggling with some kind of shoulder impingement since August of last year. Pressing, jerking and handstand push-ups (HSPUs) have been out of the question. Changing my warm-up has helped this massively. Today Coach Tsypkin programmed ‘Diane’ – one of my least favourite benchmark WODs…mainly because my shoulders take industrial action with that volume of HSPUs.

Standing over the bar, waiting for the 3, 2, 1, GO; I was really nervous – worrying about the volume of work going through my untested shoulder. With my previous history of crappy timings for getting injured, I think I have a right to be a little concerned!

3, 2, 1, GO!

My plan (trying to be sensible) was to break each round of  HSPUs down. I managed 7-7-7 in the first round. Then 5-3-3-2-2 and finally, 3-3-2-2-2. The deadlifts were more of an inconvenience between the HSPUs. I finished in 4:51…a 19s PB! My shoulder held up really well, especially considering the 5 months of no pressing work.

 

AM

‘Diane’

21-15-9

Deadlift, 105kg

HSPU

4:51

 

PM

2 mile run

11:30 (200m short of 2 miles)

 

 

KEEP EVOLVING

One thought on “Riding The Wave

  1. Very awesome blog !! I couldnt have wrote this any better than you if I tried super hard hehe!! I like your style too!! it’s very unique & refreshing…

Leave a Reply

